PACLP 2001

CALL FOR PAPERS AND PARTICIPATION

===============================================================

THE THIRD INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE AND EXHIBITION ON

THE PRACTICAL APPLICATION OF CONSTRAINT TECHNOLOGIES AND LOGIC PROGRAMMING

(http://www.practical-applications.co.uk/Expo2001/)

(brief information is also available in http://cswww.essex.ac.uk/CSP/Paclp2001)

=============================================================

 

 

Monday 26th - Wednesday 29th March 2001

Crowne Plaza Midland Hotel, Manchester, UK

 

***VERY IMPORTANT DATES***

Submission Deadline:           November 1st, 2000

Report Deadline:               November 17th, 2000

Notification/Comments:         December 4th, 2000

Final Papers due:              January 22nd, 2001

 

PACLP conferences (and its predecessors) have traditionally attracted a high proportion of participation by practitioners and end users of constraint technology. This gives constraint programming researchers good opportunities to meet practitioners and end users. PACLP 2001 builds on this tradition.

Constraint programming is an application-driven research. The theme of PACLP 2001 will be:

** Constraint Engineering: From Problems to Solutions **

We would like to encourage more practitioners and end users to participate in this conference. We aim to encourage them to share their experience in applying constraint technology to real life applications. This will highlight the strength as well as the weaknesses of today's technology, and help to identify key research directions in constraint research. We also welcome suggestions of new areas where constraint technology can be applied to. From the researchers' (solution providers') point of view, PACLP 2001 will be an opportunity to showcase new research results that could benefit applications such as planning, scheduling, routing and resource management.

With the above theme in mind, we welcome submission in, but not limited to, the following topics:

 

Survey with respect to an application area, including

      * Problems where constraint programming may be applied to

      * Experience in applying constraint programming

      * Areas where further research is required to meet industrial needs

Software engineering aspect of constraint programming, including

      * Constraints elicitation

      * Modeling

      * Solving of ill-defined applications

Solutions using multiple solving techniques, including

      * Cooperative algorithms

      * Hybrid solver configurations

      * Embedding constraint techniques in logic programming

Evaluation and comparison of approaches, including

* Operational research vs. constraint programming

* Stochastic vs. complete search techniques

 

 

 

SUBMISSION POLICY

===============

 

Submissions need to meet the conference objectives and achieve a balance

between application and theory.  With this in mind, we welcome:

* Technical Papers: papers on new techniques and new research directions

* Industrial Reports: reports on experience in applying constraint technology to real life problems

Please visit our site for guidelines on submission.

 

Technical Papers:   http://www.practical-applications.co.uk/PAExpo/guidelines.html

Industrial Reports: http://www.practical-applications.co.uk/PAExpo/report.html

 

Papers should be succinct, readable and written in English. Electronic submission is preferred. Papers in PDF or Word format should be emailed to csp@essex.ac.uk, copied to PACLP@pap.com. Please also email us a cover page, in plain text format, including:

 

            1. Full Contact Details

            2. A Short Abstract

            3. A list of no more than five keywords

 

Should you decide to submit your paper by post, you should send FIVE copies of your paper to the conference organisers at the address below.

 

Formatting guidelines and a word RTF template can be found at

http://www.practical-applications.co.uk/PAExpo/template.html

Please also submit an electronic version of your final paper as a PDF file or

Word document. The email address for this is: PACLP@pap.com

 

**Important Note**

 

Please use the following address when sending your papers to us.

 

PACLP2000

54 Knowle Avenue

Blackpool

Lancs   FY2 9UD

UK

 

CALL FOR EXHIBITORS

==================

 

Exhibitors will have the opportunity to showcase fielded applications and development tools to an international audience of delegates, comprising

Software Developers and System Designers, KBS and Expert System

Developers, IT Managers and Directors, Knowledge Practitioners, Project and

Business Managers, Applied Researchers and Consultants, Technical Advisors and Innovators, Heads of Departments/Professors.

If you would like to exhibit at the conference, please contact us for further information.

 

PROGRAMME COMMITTEE

===================

 

Syed Sibte Raza Abidi        sraza@cs.usm.my

Pedro Barahona                pb@fct.unl.pt

Oskar Bartenstein             oskar@ifcomputer.co.jp

James Borrett                 james@gol.co.uk

Mouhssine Bouzoubaa         Mouhssine.Bouzoubaa@math.sintef.no

Pierre Deransart               Pierre.Deransart@inria.fr

Anne-Francoise Douix       douix@prologianet.univ-mrs.fr

Robin Drogemuller             Robin.Drogemuller@dbce.csiro.au

Jacob Feldman                 feldman@intelengine.com

Pierre Flener                  pierref@csd.uu.se

Eugene C. Freuder                 ecf@cs.unh.edu

Markus Fromherz               fromherz@parc.xerox.com

Carmen Gervet                  c.gervet@icparc.ic.ac.uk

Peter Gray                    pgray@csd.abdn.ac.uk

Gopal Gupta                   gupta@cs.nmsu.edu

Kazuyoshi Honda             honda@tokyo-gas.co.jp

Alvin Kwan                    akwan@minddynamic.com.hk

Baudouin Le Charlier          ble@info.fundp.ac.be

Jonathan Lever             jml@icparc.ic.ac.uk

James Little                  masrjjl@brunel.ac.uk

Kim Marriott                  marriott@csse.monash.edu.au

Micha Meier                   micha@ecrc.de

Paola Mello                   pmello@deis.unibo.it

Donald Nute                   dnute@aisun1.ai.uga.edu

Mike Pegman                   mp@vinesolutions.co.uk

Luis Moniz Pereira           lmp@fct.unl.pt

Francesca Rossi             frossi@math.unipd.it

Yi Shang                      shangy@missouri.edu

Peter Stuckey                 pjs@cs.mu.oz.au

Peter Szeredi                 szeredi@iqsoft.hu

Osamu Takata                  tac@kis.tytlabs.co.jp

Vincent Tam                   vtam@comp.nus.edu.sg

Masanobu Umeda             umerin@mse.kyutech.ac.jp

Jan Van Der Vorst             JVorst@NedCar.nl

Andrew Verden                  andrew@ifcomputer.de

Chris Voudouris               chrisv@info.bt.co.uk

David RR Webber                  72030.1547@compuserve.com

 

 

ORGANISATION

=============

 

The Conference and Exhibition are organised by The Practical Application

Company Ltd.

 

Contact Details

 

Allison Roth / Anne Marie Purcell

 

Telephone  44 (0) 1253 358081

Fax             44 (0) 1253 353811

E-mail  practical-applications@pap.com

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------

To register interest please take the time to fill in this quick reply form

and send it to PACLP@pap.com

 

 

Name:

 

Position:

 

Organisation:

 

Address:

 

 

Postcode:

 

Country:

 

Telephone:

 

Fax:

 

E-mail:

 

Web:

 

 

[ ]     I may submit a paper to PACLP 2000 (Give provisional title if

          possible)

 

[ ]     I may submit an Industrial Report to PACLP 2000 (Give provisional

          title if possible)

 

[ ]     I may attend PACLP 2000 as a delegate

 

[ ]     My company may wish to sponsor or exhibit at the event.  Please

         contact me with further details.

 

[ ]     I have no interest in Constrain Technologies and Logic Programming,

but please keep me

         informed of other  events at the Practical Application Expo

 

[ ]    I have no interest in this. Please remove me from the mailing list